If you got a problem, yo I'll solve it.

If you got a problem, yo I'll solve it.

Yesterday I scribbled some introductory thoughts concerning the way we understand scripture. I proposed that God’s Eternal Purpose should inform our interpretation of the entire scriptural narrative. I also said that it is only after understanding God’s Eternal Purpose could we go on to understand our OWN purpose (for, after all, we were made to be in his image, and the task of the Christian disciple is to become more and more like his/her rabbi Jesus).

In order to do this I got a little prophetic and pointed out (albeit mildly) that maybe the most historical and beloved conception of man’s purpose is skewed because it doesn’t take this conversation into account. Yikes.

So, this morning I’d like to clarify a bit of what I was trying to say yesterday. Upon reflection I realized that some may think I was trying to undermine or belittle the first question of the Shorter Catechism. By no means! I greatly appreciate the entire Catechism, especially the first question. I have been influenced by John Piper in my appreciation of this formulation inasmuch as he emphasises the joy associated with glorifying God with out rives.

However, I do think we need to be recalibrated to understand scripture in light of God’s Eternal Purpose. And though the formulation “Man’s Chief End=Enjoy God+ Glorify Him Forever” is helpful, it doesn’t flesh out the “how.” How are we to enjoy and glorify God, and how does this relate to God’s Eternal Purpose?

In order to answer this question, I believe we must go back to the Garden. But before we do that, I’d like to return to Paul’s Letter to the Ephesians where we find the clearest explanation of God’s Eternal Purpose.

