Mr. Phelps, world renowned hater-in-the-name-of-Jesus, finds an unwelcome admirer.

Speaking of homosexuality, we had a great discussion on this last Sunday at One-Eighty. Recently, I had the students submit questions to me on any subject whatsoever. We will be taking Sunday nights for the next few weeks to discuss some of the subjects brought up by their questions. I was amazed by their courage to ask questions adults steer clear of, to admit complexity where I am tempted to say “God said it, I believe it, that settles it.”

The students walked away thoughtful. I don’t think any minds were changed; most students would have agreed with the consensus opinion that emerged at the end of the hour. The way the kids entered into the discussion, however, was something to be seen. I was amazed that such an incendiary topic engendered not grandstanding, rhetorical traps or exasperating arguments but patient, thoughtful dialogue. This from individuals aged 13-18.

We ended the night by reading Romans 1 and 1 Corinthians 13 back to back. Suffice it to say I walked away proud of students and elated that there was no clanging cymbals that night–despite the fact that we came to a conclusion that would make our culture (and some of the students in the room) uncomfortable.

