(Prayer
Ad Hoc)
The way straight
Addison’s Walk
That Damascus Road
Where with grand giant’s gait,
Soon bereft of heavy load,
Walked one recalcitrant
Resistance untold
Went still kicking
Reluctant
Screaming
Free
That Gale
Rises Fast
“Myth is tall tale,”
Foolishness exposed
In leaves fluttering past
In this God’s breath interposed
Incarnation to see
Warm flesh that enclosed
Divinity.
This Moment
Finds
Twelve days
Pondering
‘Till joyful lays
Break clouds and split sky
Joy ceases his wandering
The God-Man hast drawn him nigh
Warrior’s armour lain
Found Imago Dei
Say all the rest
Say again
The word:
Joy
Express
Joy once again
God-head impress
My heart with this Joy
So consumed with my sin
I have resisted this joy
Enforcing my cheap own
Bereft of my joy
Spirit burn fresh
To be known!
My flesh
Yearns
Joy.

